• citrus desserts (lemon bars, etc.). I like fruit quite a lot, actually, and I love beverages made from/with citrus, but if I am going to eat a dessert I want something decidedly unhealthy. Plus, they just taste weird.
  • pumpkin. All the anticipation on facebook over pumpkin spice whatevers, pumpkin waffles, pumpkin cheesecake…all sorts of weird things. Have you ever seen the inside of a pumpkin? They’re disgusting. I can’t believe someone, somewhere looked at that and thought, “Gee, I should bake a pie with that.” If you are going to the trouble of baking a pie, fill it with chocolate or coconut cream and dab some meringue on top. Putting pumpkin in a cheesecake borders on obscenity.
  • musical artists releasing a greatest hits album…with new material on it. Really? You’re THAT sure of yourself?
  • Settlers of Catan. I can at least tolerate it now, and I’ve even accidentally won once or twice, but I just don’t think “Hey, this is AWESOME!” when playing. I seriously don’t get why it’s so popular.
  • people who act like their pets are people. No further comment.
  • Twitter. I’m not even interested in what I think every 20 seconds; I certainly don’t care to know what you’re thinking.
  • politics on facebook. Do people actually think they change people’s minds with their status updates?
  • baby weight. I used to think people with “baby weight” either gained too much while pregnant or were lazy, but now I know it is a mathematical anomaly. If you only gain the weight of pregnancy – baby, placenta, amniotic fluid, extra blood volume – in theory it should mostly be gone at delivery and almost all gone within a few weeks. But it is entirely possible, and even likely, to weigh nearly the same amount months and months later. I’m no math major but it just doesn’t make logical sense.
  • people who act like their phone is necessary for survival. I mean, Western civilization marched onward before the advent of the cellular phone, and certainly before phones also had extra gadgets. You should be able to make it 2 minutes without texting someone, consulting an app, or playing a game.
