Today is a big day – this is my first guest post! When I had the opportunity to review a book on how Jesus is “branded” (represented) by His followers I immediately thought of my husband, Jake, who is very passionate about that topic and also enthusiastic about branding/marketing in general. His thoughts on Branded are far more interesting than mine, so here they are:

When I was asked to read a Christian book called Branded, I thought, “Great, this will be a watered-down, decade late how-to on church marketing.” I put it off several days. I decided to pick it up and started reading between the big things in life. After I began reading I promptly etched out a time to read it. Branded is a quick, easy read. I read it in one day but will be digesting it for weeks to come.

Branded has nothing to do with church marketing. It has everything to do with personally representing Jesus. Sinclair offers no answers in this book. He tells you this from the get-go. Instead, he offers questions. LOTS of questions. Don’t miss the discussion questions in the back of the book. I found them equally challenging/motivating as the chapters themselves.

Sinclair’s ability to tell stories and use of analogies was very refreshing. I felt as though I was sitting at a coffee shop, having a conversation with a friend. He made me laugh. He made me think. He left me speechless. I left ready to roll up my sleeves and get to work.

Branded is a great read! I have already been recommending this book to people who are frustrated with traditional evangelism. It covers a lot that was swirling in my head but had not taken form.

Mr. Sinclair, if you read this and are ever in the Dallas area, hit me up. I’d like to buy you a cup of coffee (and give $3 to the local homeless shelter).

This book was provided for review by the LitFuse Publicity Group.

