Move over, Thoenes. This is the best, most believable Christian fiction I have read.

The main character in The DMZ by Jeanette Windle is Julie Baker, the orphaned daughter of missionaries in Colombia who became a reporter and returns to Colombia for an assignment. Things go wrong as she is investigating and she ends up in a hostage situation in the Amazon rain forest. There are a lot of political factors playing into the area’s volatility that are explored and it can get a bit confusing, but I didn’t find it overwhelming.

The DMZ is satisfyingly long, but not too long. I hate it when a book that is otherwise good is just…short. Not so with this one. Or when you are like “PLEASE JUST END” but also, not so here. The characters are well-written and believable. The faith-related aspects are perhaps a bit heavy-handed but not annoying, or at least not much. And the details…ohhhh, the details. You can tell a lot of work and research went into writing this novel.

I will say that there were a few situations where the lack of strong language was amusing, like an angry colonel saying, “my rear on the line” or, “danged if I know.” Substitutes like that for what most people would really say in those circumstances just seem feeble. I have a decent vocabulary (as in, one that reflects basic education) but I can assure you that if I am held hostage by guerillas in the rain forest I will quickly resort to using the sort of vocabulary that earns movies R-ratings.

On the whole, I really enjoyed reading The DMZ and look forward to reading more of Windle’s work.

This book was provided for review by the LitFuse Publicity Group.

