This topic is quite controversial for my lil’ ol’ blog, but here goes. Due to religious/spiritual/whatever-you-want-to call-it reasons, I cannot in good conscience vote for gay* marriages to be legalized** or otherwise support them. I also have a degree in family studies from a secular institution and can attest that there are also many legitimate sociological reasons to oppose the institutionalization of homosexual relationships. But the reality is that no one really cares about that. On most controversial issues such as this, it seems to me that pretty much people believe what they want to believe and no opinion or even sociological reason will change their mind.

I will say, though, that I do understand the concerns of the gay* community concerning the lack of legality of their relationships. For example, if a person is in the hospital dying, the hospital may or may not allow their partner to see them, as they are not technically, by which I mean legally, family. And regardless of religious/spiritual/whatever-you-want-to-call-it reasons you have, that is just sad. Sometimes family is more than your blood relatives or the people who have the right papers. I really wish these types of issues could be addressed for the gay community. I can only assume it is these types of legal problems that make them want to get married in the first place; the odds on marriage aren’t that great these days so I cannot think of why else they would want to jump on board a sinking ship.

*I will never, ever cease to be bitter that this community of people has commandeered some perfectly wonderful words and changed their meanings, namely “gay” and “queer.”

**This raises the question of whether American courts, or American people, have the authority/responsibility/right to alter the definition of a social institution in the first place; they probably don’t. But that doesn’t stop anyone from trying. See above.

