I have never – at least, I thought I have never – had a problem trusting God to provide. I have never been in need of food, clothing, or a place to stay and it was easy to assume that God would just keep up the good work.  Fathers are supposed to be a picture to their kids of who God is and this is one area where my dad absolutely knocked it out of the park. So, I thought I had a lot of faith in this realm…but in the recent face of declining income and rising expenses I found myself in a mild panic. HOW on earth am I supposed to go about acquiring things that are legitimately needed if WE HAVE NO MONEY? But even though I turned out to be in the “ye of little faith” camp, the gifts keep coming.

  • baby. Before I found out I was pregnant, I was in a sort of downward spiral that was, at best, a horrible attitude and at worst, a very dark pit of depression. The day I saw “Enceinte” was the day I started climbing out. I may still have a way to go but the mere existence of this tiny child brings me great joy and in that way he/she is already a gift.
  • pregnancy. This has been an EXTREMELY easy pregnancy so far. As mentioned above I was not really in a condition to deal with a lot of complications – hyperemesis would have broken me, signs of impending miscarriage would have killed me, and even overwhelming cravings for American food would have completely crushed me with discouragement. Except for some mild nausea that didn’t even last very long I have been nothing but healthy. Living in a foreign country with a very, VERY elementary level of language is stressful enough without having to face medical problems; I am so thankful this pregnancy has been so very easy.
  • barter. I was able to work out a barter with a lady for some things I will need after the baby is born in exchange for some design work by my husband.
  • finances. Some very generous gifts by family members and even strangers have eased my mind about how we will be able to pay for some things our insurance won’t cover, or how we will keep buying groceries if our income declines before then. And I have some money set aside, my “allowance” from 2 or 3 years saved up, which is helping to purchase some baby supplies. Obviously I had no intention of spending my allowance money on diapers, but sometimes – as with Joseph in Egypt – God’s provision comes well ahead of a future need.
  • clothes. I have never been at a place where I actually NEED clothes. But pregnancy means that eventually none of your clothes fit, so you need new shirts, pants, bras, underwear, pajamas – EVERYTHING. Some women can wear their hubby’s sweats or basketball shorts but, um, that’s unfortunately not a viable option here. We have no money – literally NO money – budgeted for clothes. Enter Christmas. My wishlist may have been boring but gifts from sweet family members mean that if I can’t leave the house it will be due to the 4 flights of stairs and not a complete and utter lack of attire.
  • friends. My friend Tiffany has walked me through the French medical system; I would have packed up and gone home if she wasn’t here. And when we were in Germany, my friends Jen & Dawn told me all sorts of things about having a baby and motherhood, things I need to know but nobody ever tells you. They are like the big sisters I never had. So, God has given me new/extra family, too.

That is why I tell you not to worry about everyday life—whether you have enough food and drink, or enough clothes to wear. Isn’t life more than food, and your body more than clothing? Look at the birds. They don’t plant or harvest or store food in barns, for your heavenly Father feeds them. And aren’t you far more valuable to him than they are? Can all your worries add a single moment to your life? And why worry about your clothing? Look at the lilies of the field and how they grow. They don’t work or make their clothing, yet Solomon in all his glory was not dressed as beautifully as they are. And if God cares so wonderfully for wildflowers that are here today and thrown into the fire tomorrow, he will certainly care for you. Why do you have so little faith? So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need. So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries. Today’s trouble is enough for today.

