Jake has been bugging me for quite some time about my habit of including two spaces in between sentences, claiming that a single space “looks better.” I refused to entertain these wheedlings, because while I was in school the MLA standard was two. A few days ago Jake brought this matter up yet again, so I set about to prove my case…and discovered, to my chagrin, that the MLA has changed. The standard is now one space between sentences.

I am not sure why the Modern Language Association caved to art majors on the grounds that one space “looks better,” but they did, and as a language appreciator I will be reluctantly following suit. So you will notice that from here on out, there will be a lone space in between my sentences, the same as in between regular words, which doesn’t make any sense to me, but as my logic was not consulted in this matter I suppose my opinion is of little consequence.

