We have met a lot of people here who have or are in the process of achieving advanced degrees.  Apparently higher education is quite popular in Europe.  Some of these people are truly intelligent…and then there are others who are living proof that attending school is not the equivalent of intelligence.  For example, there was this girl in our language class who was a complete moron but somehow a doctoral student.  I won’t bore you with multiple proofs, but I will say that she tried to convince me that “the guy who wrote Winnie-the-Pooh” (A.A. Milne, by the way; I don’t need a doctorate to know that) was Canadian.  I also don’t need an advanced degree to know that the possibly most famous children’s author in history was English.  Later, she refused to give our team a hint in French Trivial Pursuit because we wouldn’t tell her who the owl was…um, his name is OWL.  Moron.

The gym I joined plays music videos all the time.  All the videos with female lead vocalists, with very few exceptions, seem to to be pretty sexual.  All the videos with male lead vocalists, with a few exceptions, are just a group of guys dancing in the street.  Why is that?  Women have spent centuries trying to be seen as more than mere sex objects or possessions; you must really hate yourself to intentionally choose to be seen that way.  Famous people in general seem miserable and self-loathing.  I think it says something about “the human condition” that so many people want so very badly to be famous, and those that acquire fame are, for the most part, tormented by it.

When I left junior high, I was so happy to never again deal with immature, whiny, attention-seeking, selfish, rumor-starting, side-choosing, catty behavior.  Then I went to high school and was disappointed.  College will be different, I thought…and then I discovered that college is nearly as junior high-ish as junior high, if not more so.  I have been out of college for 4 or 5 years now and am slowly coming to the realization that some people just don’t grow up.  I cannot figure this out.  Surely it is exhausting to be constantly jockeying for position on the “cool” scale, constantly competing for attention with people that are just as insecure, constantly trying to ensure your so-called friends like you more than their other friends, constantly bending the truth to keep some sort of flimsy illusion.  Why can’t people just be normal?  GROW UP, PEOPLE.

