I like my life to have a rhythm to it.  An ambling ryhthm, to be sure, but with certain things to count on.  Summer means certain things to me: racerback tan lines.  Shakespeare in the Park, languidly swatting at mosquitoes, sharing picnic food.  Snowcones from Bedford Snoball.

With the exception of the racerback tan, those things won’t happen this summer.  I can’t meet my dad with picnic supplies to watch a Shakespeare play and become more cultured (dang it! they’re doing 2 comedies this year instead of a comedy and a tragedy!).  No piling into our car after a long afternoon spent playing ultimate in the blazing Texas heat, windows rolled down, on our way to be revived with the cold, juicy, delicious, real-fruit goodness of a jubilee snowcone (I won’t mention how many times so far I have craved a pineapple jubilee and realized, with heart-wrenching sadness, that it will be a very long time before I will have one of those again).  No Sunday evenings spent watching Masterpiece Mystery with my parents.  No sand volleyball with our lifegroup, which I enjoy from a safe distance (because I hate sand) while chatting with friends also inclined to sand hatred.

This summer brings more change in a year that has been full of it.  I don’t really like change.  I mean I can handle it, I guess, but I like my rhythms.  I feel disoriented without them.  It can’t possibly be the end of June, for example, because I have not yet tasted a single snowcone.  And how can I possibly celebrate the Fourth of July without grilled hot dogs and fireworks at the Bedford Boys’ Ranch?

I have learned a lot over the past several months about making do: take what you have and do what you can with it.  And that’s what I’ll do this summer.  It may not be what I’m used to, but we have some really fun stuff planned and I’m looking forward to it.  It will be different – it IS different – but it will still be good.

