Our sending team gathered around us Saturday night for a farewell.  We talked about what we will be doing in Marseille and some ways they can support us while we’re gone.  It’s a great group of people, some truly good friends.  And they prayed for us – prayed for our luggage to arrive, prayed for the people we will be meeting, prayed for our brains and tongues to learn French, prayed for our marriage.  I can’t even begin to say how much it means to be surrounded by a group of people who have committed to pray for you, for real.

And Sunday…ahhh, Sunday.  I love my church.  I go to church with phenomenal music but it’s not pretentious.  I go to a church where people truly love you as you are, where you are and let your spiritual journey be yours, acknowledging that God works in different people in different ways.  I go to a church where we learned to do life with other people.  I go to a church that believes that what you do & how you live is more important than what you talk about.  They don’t just talk about missions and throw some money at it – they send out missionaries, full-time as well as short-term, all over the world, all the time.  They don’t just talk about social problems; they partner with an outreach to orphans in Honduras who live & work in a huge dump.  By partnering, I mean “give money to” as well as “send people to help in the actual work.”  Ross was talking about God’s justice on Sunday, and what I love about Ross’ talks (or sermons, or whatever you want to call them) is that while he will talk about weighty things like the justice of God but never leaves it there – there is always some way to live it out, like ways to be a part of bringing justice to those who live in injustice.  I love that.  It’s never just, “Let’s talk about God’s glory;” it’s “Let’s talk about God’s glory, and then we’ll talk about how we can make much of Him in our lives.”  I will really miss being there every Sunday…but I wouldn’t want to be sent out from any other church.

