Every summer, which means about 9 months out of the year, I wonder what possessed human beings to populate the great land known as Texas.  The heat – relentless, overpowering, merciless – kills people every summer.  I’m not exaggerating.  I wish I were.  The only reason more people don’t die is air conditioning, which obviously wasn’t such a lifesaver back in covered wagon days.

But in spring…I know why they set up camp here.

How could you not want to live here?  Views like that make you think anything is possible, even fresh starts.  Especially when the weather is awesome, which it always is for 2-4 weeks, conveniently at the same time as the bluebonnets and other wildflowers.

Of course one or two months later they were cursing the gods.  Also I would like to note that, due to the DFW area being pretty much paved, I see views like that in between various highways, so I have to use my imagination.  But Texas wildflowers…there’s just nothing like it.

 

*Note: I jacked these pictures off the internet.  But they are from Texas.

